Intro: Sam Normandeau – Horticulturist

Home Forums Welcome and Introductions Intro: Sam Normandeau – Horticulturist

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Phyllostachys
      Participant

Hello!

I am a horticulturist living in Vancouver, Canada. I am looking to connect with like-minded individuals, and to develop sustainable concepts with the aim to affect positive change. I see the field of horticulture as being ripe for sustainable innovation, and this is where I dream of focusing my efforts.

In 2007, as a teenager pondering trivial things such as my post-secondary life choices —while realizing the unsustainable nature of our 21st century society, I set out three main criteria to guide my career choice. 1- It should be a topic that I enjoy. 2- It should be a field where I could apply my skills with the aim to affect positive change to our society’s sustainability. 3- It should pay at least enough to live.

The name of the 3-year program I studied is in French and translates to: “Environment & Horticultural Production Technologies”. In addition to being motivated by my personal interest in plants and the natural world, my decision to pursue a career path in horticulture was motivated by my desire to better understand the horticultural systems which underpin our society and form the basis of our relationship with the environment.

While in college, a teacher asked me what my ‘dream job’ would be. I gave him three answers: 1- Own my own plot of land and have a horticultural production (as a testbed for innovation), 2- work in research, 3- work at a botanical garden. A few months later, as luck would have it, I was offered a part time job at a horticulture research institution, and later interned as a research assistant. It was great, and it helped me learn that I didn’t want to do repetitive research every single day of my life. One dream job done!